David Scott School is an independent specialist school registered with the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority (VRQA). The David Scott School sits within the organisational structure of the Brotherhood of St. Laurence (BSL).

The Brotherhood of St. Laurence is an incorporated association, incorporated 1971. The David Scott School is governed by a School Council formed by the BSL Board. Which is a formally constituted sub-committee of the BSL Board. The purpose of the School Council is to lead the governance of the David Scott School, ensuring the school adheres to all legal obligations, set the schools strategic direction and maintain the school’s connection to the Brotherhood of St. Laurence and its broader goals and visions.

The Council powers and responsibilities stem from the BSL constitution and are delegated to it by the BSL Board through a set of governance rules.

School Council Members

Council Member Qualifications Experience
Ian Paroissien BCom, ACA ANZ, Deputy Chair Brotherhood of St Laurence Mr Paroissien is a retired partner from PricewaterhouseCoopers. He was appointed to the BSL Board in March 2017 and is a member of the Nominations, Governance & People Committee and Audit and Risk Management Committee. Since February 2018, Mr Paroissien has been Chair of the David Scott School Council, and, since August 2019, Chair of the Property Committee.
Michael James BCom, GAICD, FCA ANZ, CPA For the last 13 years Mr Mike James has specialised in the governance of not-for-profit organisations. He was an inaugural director of Goodstart Ltd in 2010, a director/Chair of Social Traders Ltd and director/Deputy Chair of the Brotherhood of St Laurence. Mike is currently a Council Member (and previous Chair) of the David Scott School in Frankston.
Carol Smith DipEd(Primary), PGradCertBus/OutRec, GCLeadGDEd, High Performance Leadership Coaching Awardee, Member

of the Chair Academy (Leadership Development in Higher Ed)

Ms Carol Smith has spent much of her working career as EO in not for profits and charities such as The Portsea Camp and Girl Guides Victoria. Carol has spent extensive time working with the Koori Community in the Goulburn Valley and was previously the Manager of the Centre for Koori Education at GOTAFE. She is the current Chief Executive Officer of the Frankston Mornington Peninsula LLEN.


Carol trained as a primary school teacher and has also completed Business and Recreation post graduate certificates. She was successful in the Leaders Development Program for Education and Training Managers at VU and the High Performance Leadership Coach Program in the past 3 years. Carol is a Rotarian, Girl Guide leader and Woman of Note.

Lucia Boxelaar BS(Hons), PhD Dr. Lucia Boxelaar is the Acting Executive Director and also leads BSL’s portfolio of community programs – Children’s Programs, Youth Services, Work, Economic Security and Social Inclusion, and Strategic Partnerships.


Lucia joined BSL in November 2018, after being with World Vision Australia for 11 years where she led teams that managed, researched and developed large-scale programs. She also led two global strategic initiatives for World Vision International to promote evidence capture, utilisation and communication.


Lucia has a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Anthropology from Monash University, and a PhD in Community Based Natural Resource Management from the University of Melbourne.

Claire Murray BA, B Ap. Sci., MBA, M Arch. Ms Claire Murray has worked in consulting, advisory and management roles in both the private and public sectors. She has experience in the digital, innovation, science, technology, education and creative industries. Her current role focusses on strategic and business analyses, policy and program reviews and the provision of general policy advice.


Claire has a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Applied Science, a Master of Business Administration and a Master of Architecture.

Noelene Horton AM, BA, DipEd, GradDipTh, FACE, FACEL, GAICD Former Principal of Lowther Hall Anglican Grammar School and Former Chair of the Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia. Current Board Member of St Catherine’s School and Executive Officer to the Archbishop of the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne.
Bishop Kate Prowd BA (Hons), BA (Hons in psych), BDiv, Masters of Psychology (Clinical) Bishop Prowd was ordained a deacon (1986) and priest (1992) during years of intense debate over the ordination of women. Her consecration took place in October 2018 as Bishop of the Oodthenong Episcopate, which covers parishes and schools in the west and north west of Melbourne and parts of the north east. She is also a clinical psychologist and prior to her consecration worked for six years as a clinical psychologist in palliative care and with people diagnosed with progressive neurological diseases at Calvary Health Care Bethlehem. Her interests are in clergy wellbeing, mission, and exploring the connections between spirituality and psychology. Bishop Prowd was appointed to the BSL Board in October 2018, and is a member of the David Scott School Council.

Annual Reports